Broedom

April 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

Discovering mylifeisbro in the midst of our genetics module at med school feels fated somehow. Never mind the tortuously circuitous route I took to find it, a journey that represents countless hours on the internet spent trying to avoid learning about Barr bodies. It’s like they say, schoolwork is never as meaningful as when you can take it out of the classroom and apply it to the real world.

I’m guessing that you clicked the link and read at least the first page of the website. Isn’t it golden? I offer you a representative post here below:

I wrote a paper on how to be a bro. I got an A and my teacher said I was the “Broet Laureate”. He gave me a smiley face and we fist bumped. It was chill. MLIB.

Now assuming that this poster, or rather, proband, is a real person (I know what you’re thinking. Trust me, I know), we can draw up some phenotypic features:

1.      Inserting ‘bro’ into words in the most imaginative ways. Por ejemplo: brosef, bro job, brohamas.

2.     Fist bumping with other bros.

3.     Getting your woman to make you a sandwich.

4.     Being chill.

A quick scan through the website reveals some other points of interest. There are over fifty thousand posts, which suggests that being a bro is far from a rare syndrome. Too high to explain this away via founder effect. De novo, then. And since the mode of inheritance seems to be exclusively bro-to-bro, is this an example of a Y-linked trait? Does such a thing exist? Moreover, if the syndromic characteristics I listed above all come in a bundle, which I suspect they do, is this evidence of extensive linkage disequilibrium over a single haplotype? I call it the brollele. Not as clever as Abroham Lincoln, but then again, I’m not a bro.

This post was inspired in part by some lax bros.

Chill,

Sam

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Broedom at Samyukta Mullangi.

meta