So… second year.

October 1, 2011 § 2 Comments

In a small bay of our skills lab, seven of my classmates gathered around as my friend A gripped a small mace and shut one eye as he bore down slowly into a slice of brain. I don’t know about the others but I for one wasn’t breathing.

“How did it feel?” we asked him when he exhaled (so I wasn’t alone) and looked to us for affirmation.

“It’s strange,” he said. “It felt softer than jelly.”

Then he picked the knife up and sliced the brain again, and again, and again.

So much surrealism is contained in our neuroanatomy block. Such long hours, so many diagrams of remote nuclei and signaling and circuits that I may or may not remember one week from now. So many zombie jokes.

This month has been something of a metaphor for second year. Things are getting heated and we’re all losing our minds.

Last year, I could count on one hand how many hours I studied per day. This year, I count on one hand how many times I remember to shower in a week.

Last year, I called and skyped friends from college and home ALL THE TIME. This year, I found myself blanking on a friend’s name, rushing to Facebook to try and find him, and then diagnosing myself with aphasia.

Last year, my friend J and I bitched about skinny girls by calling them ‘ano’. This year, we do the same thing (because we haven’t grown up) but call it marasmus.

Give me a few more months and I’m going to need a halfway home if I ever want to go out in society again.

The other day, for the first time ever, I experienced retail therapy… online. (Time’s in a pinch, ya know) Did I experience the same kind of euphoria that I usually do when I swipe down my credit card and gather up my new apparel close to my heart? Not really, but I still got to hang up a few new sweaters in my closet. It’s not classy, it’s not sexy, but it’s getting the job done.

“You just cut through countless memories,” I said to A, when he was finished with the brain.

“Or a bunch of prions, you know,” he returned. “It all depends on how you slice it.”

§ 2 Responses to So… second year.

  • I seldom write responses, however i did a few searching and wound up here So second year.
    | Samyukta Mullangi. And I do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it simply me or does it appear like a few of the comments appear like coming from brain dead people? :-P And, if you are writing on additional online social sites, I would like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  • I don’t think I breathed through my nose once when we hit the brain table.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading So… second year. at Samyukta Mullangi.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers